It’s a privilege to participate in the work God is doing through Covenant College on Lookout Mountain. Those of us who are here today stand on the shoulders of those who sacrificed their time, resources, and life work to bring the College to this place. As I look back on the past 50 years, I’m grateful for how the Lord has blessed their early work.

From humble beginnings, Covenant’s campus has grown to include multiple academic buildings, residence halls, a library, a chapel, and athletic facilities. The campus — now 400 acres — is filled with more than a thousand students from 48 states and 23 countries, studying in 28 different majors spanning the liberal arts, sciences, and pre-professional disciplines. The Covenant College of 2014 is deeply indebted to the men and women who brought the College to Lookout Mountain in 1964.

From its beginning, Covenant College has sought to explore the preeminence of Christ in all things. In the midst of a rapidly changing world, we are thankful for the firm grounding we have as the college of the Presbyterian Church in America. And as we look forward, we’re confident that the God who brought Covenant to Lookout Mountain 50 years ago will continue to guide our steps as we prepare thoughtful men and women to serve the church and the world.

Covenant College Timeline

1955 – Covenant College founded in Pasadena, California

1955 – Dr. Robert Rayburn serves as president

1956 – Covenant College moves  to St. Louis, Missouri

1964 – The College moves into the Lookout Mountain Hotel in Lookout Mountain, Georgia; Covenant offers eight majors to students

1965 – Dr. Marion Barnes becomes president

1971 – Covenant is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools

1972 – Kresge Memorial Library opens

1978 – Dr. Martin Essenburg becomes president

1982 – The PCA merges with the Reformed Presbyterian Church, Evangelical Synod (RPCES), bringing Covenant College into the PCA

1984 – Sanderson Hall, a new academic building, is completed

1987 – Dr. Frank Brock becomes president

1996 – The C.G. & Nancy Mills Science Building opens

2002 – Dr. Niel Nielson becomes president

2008 – Brock Hall, a new academic building, is completed

2012 – Dr. Derek Halvorson ’93 becomes president

2014 – Covenant offers 28 majors to students; Covenant celebrates 50 years atop Lookout Mountain