AC Votes to Hire Chapell as Stated Clerk Pro-Tempore
By AC Staff
PCA General Assembly in June

The PCA’s Administrative Committee (AC) met April 23 via Zoom video conference. In addition to its routine work, the AC took three actions that were prompted by the postponement of the 48th General Assembly.

Under Rules of Assembly Operations (RAO) 4-17, the committee voted unanimously to hire Teaching Elder Bryan Chapell as stated clerk pro-tempore and provisional AC coordinator. RAO 4-17 was most recently used to call Dr. Stephen Estock as provisional coordinator of the Committee on Discipleship Ministries and Dr. Lloyd Kim as provisional coordinator of Mission to the World until the subsequent Assembly could elect them. The 48th General Assembly will vote on Dr. Chapell’s election as stated clerk in 2021 (RAO 3-4).

Chapell, currently senior pastor of Grace Presbyterian Church in Peoria, Illinois, is tentatively scheduled to start Sept. 1. Current Stated Clerk L. Roy Taylor will continue in the position until Chapell begins.

The AC also voted to endorse the Frequently Asked Questions with Answers (FAQs) that were authored by the stated clerk and published after the AC postponed the 48th General Assembly on April 13 (RAO 10-6) because of the coronavirus pandemic. In these FAQs, the stated clerk offered his opinions on “the least chaotic solutions” to several issues that are not covered by existing rules.

In addition, so that the denomination’s agencies and committees can continue their work, the AC recommended to the 48th General Assembly the approval of their budgets. At the same time, all 10 committees and agencies are preparing to operate under financial contingency plans in light of the economic downturn, and to work within the constraints of contributions from churches and individuals, earned income, and any existing reserves.

The AC is composed of 20 voting members — 11 elected by the General Assembly at-large and nine members who represent the General Assembly committees and agencies other than the AC.  In addition, the five coordinators of the permanent committees and presidents of the General Assembly agencies serve as nonvoting advisory members.

Scroll to Top